NHRA News New Board Members Elected

Three dedicated hospice regatta supporters have been elected to the Board of Directors of the National Hospice Regatta Alliance, a non-profit network of more than 25 charity regattas that raise funds and awareness for hospices serving their local communities.

Bob Hooper House: Bringing Hospice Awareness to Our Regatta

The new board members are: Michael Hess of Rochester, NY; Peter Hrabchak of Dexter, NY; and Jonathan “Bryn” Warner of Clearwater, FL.

Michael Hess has raced out of Rochester and Canandaigua, NY for years. He has competed on winning boats in local Hospice Regattas, as well as Hospice Regattas National Championships in Annapolis and Rochester. Earlier this year he sold his travel bag company, Skooba Design, and started the consulting firm Quadrant Marketing. He is also a business speaker and contributing writer to CBS News and Entrepreneur Magazine.

Peter Hrabchak has 40 years of yacht racing experience, and for several years he’s been the leading individual fundraiser for the Hospice Charity Cup regatta that benefits Hospice of Jefferson County, NY He received the regatta’s 2013 Hospice Impact Award and won the 2014 regatta. A past commodore of Crescent Yacht Club in Chaumont, NY, Hrabchak recently retired as a mental health counselor for the State Office for People with Disabilities in Rome, NY.

Bryn Warner is a Senior Director, Resource Development, Suncoast HospiceFoundation, part of the Empath Health network in Pinellas County, Florida. He served on the organizing committee for the 2012-14 Hospice Regattas Championships in St. Petersburg and is the Foundation’s principal liaison to the Tampa Bay Hospice Cup. A certified fund-raising executive, Warner is active in Leadership St. Pete and the St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce.

Hess, Hrabchak and Warner will all serve three-year terms (2015-2017) on the all-volunteer Alliance board. In addition, Harold “Tom” Tomlinson was re-elected to a second term.

The Alliance board also elected its officers for 2015: Tom Tomlinson, president, Mark LeNeave, vice president; Barbara Chatzkel, treasurer; and Bill Northwood, secretary. Longtime president Jean Swink Klutz did not seek another term but continues as an active board member.